(includes music from More Tales of the City 1/2)

Currently Playing:

Video code provided by KEKAI BOY

Brian McKnight Shoulda, Coulda, Woulda

(from Amaazon.com) From the popular online queer novel "Tales of the City 1/2" based on the works by Armistead Maupin and Rumiko Takehashi comes an eclectic soundtrack that combines the genres of hip hop, techno, rhythm and blues, country as well as nostalgic tributes to the city of San Francisco's legacy that brings the novel to life.

  1. Judy Garland San Francisco
  2. Five for Fighting 100 Years
  3. Eagle-Eye Cherry Save Tonight
  4. Missy Elliot Work It
  5. DJ Encore and Engelina You've Got a Way (remix)
  6. Maroon 5 She Will Be Loved
  7. Brian McKnight Shoulda, Coulda, Woulda
  8. Kenny Chesney When the Sun Goes Down
  9. Shania Twain Forever and for Always
  10. Christina Milian Dip It Low
  11. Brandy Afrodisiac
  12. Carolyn Dawn Johnson Simple Kind of Life
  13. Tony Bennett I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  14. Snoop Doggy Dogg Drop it Like it's Hot
  15. Lloyd Banks On Fire


"San Francisco" by Judy Garland is the cover song for many reasons. The novel is dedicated to not only to identity but also to the legacy of the city of San Francsico. Judy Garland is also a favorite of queers everywhere.

"Save Tonight" by Eagle-Eye Cherry takes place when Ryoga is looking out of the window of Ryan's car in the Chapter XX as he looks at the bright lights of Castro at night. It is a song of hope and of possible romance between the two characters.

"Work It" by Missy Elliot is the song that Jane and Shampoo dance to at Club Faith's Pussycat Night. Missy's gift in creating catchy songs that cause erotic swaying is perfect for Shampoo trying to seduce Jane.

"You Got a Way" by DJ Encore and Englina is the song that Ryoga and Tyler dance to in Club Earth.

"She Will Be Loved" by Maroon 5 is very appropriate for the Shampoo-Lisa sex scene in Chapter XXX. Lisa is a big fan of Maroon 5 but the song is also really romantic and fits perfectly with Lisa's needs to comfort Shampoo after she finds out that Ben is cheating on her.

"Shoulda Coulda Woulda" by Brian McKnight is the breakup song from Luke to Martin in Chapter XX because it expresses Luke's feelings about his relationship with Martin and how he wishes that he could have the strength to come out in order to continue being Martin's lover.

"Forever and For Always" by Shania Twain is a powerful ballad that. The cowboy scene in Badlands is dedicated to the original Further Tales of the City novel which also has a gay cowboy scene. Shania Twain's music has been known to be queer friendly as well in a genre that is known more for its hypermasculinity and homophobia.


Unfortunately because of copyrights, I am not allowed to release the soundtrack online. However, the soundtrack is available now through two online music sources:

1. Apple's iTunes

Download iTunes and look for the "Tales of the City 1/2: The Original Soundtrack" playlist for only $7.00

2. RealPlayer's Rhapsody

All the songs are available via. If you have Rhapsody, e-mail me and I will be happy to provide you with the "Tales of the City 1/2" playlist